whiteID_focus-silver-2017-02

Two Focus Silver awards for whiteID Integrated Design

On 13 October 2017, two products developed by whiteID Integrated Design received the International Design Award Focus Silver from the state of Baden-Württemberg: in the object category, the Metrik cantilever chair from Wilkhahn, the renowned manufacturer of office and business furniture; and in the category kids and family, the brand new tractor made by Schleich, specialist for realistic toys with its headquarters in Schwäbisch Gmünd.

For 26 years already, companies and designers have been invited to enter their latest products in the Focus Open competition. Products which have not been on the market for more than two years and prototypes ready for market launch can be registered in one of the 18 categories. The scope ranges from capital goods to products for domestic use, as well as vehicles and medical equipment.

Schleich, specialist for realistic and detailed toys with its headquarters in Schwäbisch Gmünd is expanding its “Farm World” product line by means of the new tractor and, besides its animal figures, can also offer a comprehensive world suited for children ages 3 and above. The tractor, which is well-suited for the hands of children, integrates elements of various originals and intentionally avoids resemblance to any specific model but, nevertheless, still has very modern appearance.

The jury’s verdict for the modern, multifunctional cantilever chair made by the international premium manufacturer Wilkhahn from Bad Münder in Lower Saxony was:
“A clean design and finish: The positive connection of frame and seat is noteworthy since it requires a high technical know-how in the field of plastics engineering to achieve this degree of perfection. An interesting feature is the transition between the hard lines of the backrest and the flowing, round shape of the support leg.”

Here you can look behind the idea of the Metrik cantilever chair

From Saturday, 14 October to Sunday, 22 November 2017, an exhibition at the MIK (Museum Information Art) in Ludwigsburg will show all the products which received this year’s Focus Open awards, as well as the Mia Seeger Prize for young designers.
You can find detailed information on the exhibition at:
www.mik-ludwigsburg.de

You can already have a look at the catalogue from the publisher avedition here:
issuu.com/avedition/docs/focus_leseprobe

Back to Top

whiteID_focus-silver-2017-02

Zweifach Focus Silver für whiteID Integrated Design

Am 13. Oktober 2017 wurden gleich zwei von whiteID Integrated Design entwickelten Produkte mit dem Focus Silver des Internationalen Designpreises Baden-Württemberg ausgezeichnet – der Freischwinger Metrik des renommierten Büro- und Objektmöbelherstellers Wilkhahn in der Kategorie Objekt und der brandneue Traktor von Schleich, dem Spezialisten für realitätsnahe Spielwaren mit Sitz in Schwäbisch Gmünd, in der Kategorie Kids und Familie.

Bereits seit 26 Jahren sind Unternehmen und Designer aus aller Welt eingeladen, mit ihren aktuellen Produkten am Wettbewerb Focus Open teilzunehmen. Produkte, die nicht länger als zwei Jahre auf dem Markt sind sowie serienreife Prototypen können in einer von insgesamt 18 Kategorien angemeldet werden. Das Spektrum reicht von Investitionsgütern über Produkte für den häuslichen Bedarf bis zu Fahrzeugen und Medizintechnik.

Die Firma Schleich, der Spezialist für realistische und detailgetreue Spielwaren mit Sitz in Schwäbisch Gmünd, baut mit dem neuen Traktor die bestehende Produktlinie „Farm World“ weiter aus und bietet somit weiterhin neben den Tierfiguren eine ganzheitliche Spielwelt für Kinder ab 3 Jahren an. Der für Kinder gut handhabbare Traktor integriert Elemente verschiedener Originale, bildet also bewusst keinen bestimmten Typ ab und zeigt dennoch eine ganz aktuelle Anmutung.

Die Jurybegründung für den neuartigen, multifunktionalen Freischwinger des internationalen Premiumanbieters Wilkhahn aus dem niedersächsischen Bad Münder lautet:
„Sauber gestaltet und verarbeitet: Hervorzuheben ist die formschlüssige Verbindung von Gestell und Schale, deren Perfektion großes kunststofftechnisches Wissen verlangt. Interessant wirken die Übergänge zwischen den kantigen Linien im Rückenbereich hin zu den fließenden, runden Verläufen des Tragrohres.“

Blicken Sie hier hinter die Idee des Metrik Freischwinger Stuhls.

Von Samstag 14. Oktober bis Sonntag 22. November 2017 zeigt eine Ausstellung im MIK (Museum Information Kunst) in Ludwigsburg alle ausgezeichneten Produkte des diesjährigen Focus Open sowie des Mia Seeger Preises für Nachwuchsdesigner.
Detaillierte Informationen zur Ausstellung finden Sie unter: www.mik-ludwigsburg.de

Hier können Sie bereits vorab einen Blick in den, im Verlag avedition erschienenen, Katalog werfen:
issuu.com/avedition/docs/focus_leseprobe

Back to Top